Discover the new cast of Motown The Musical

Discover the new cast of Motown The Musical

Updated On: May 1, 2018
News and Information, London
  • Related Shows

    The hit West End production of Motown the Musical has announced its new West End cast led by Jay Perry as Berry Gordy, Natalie Kassanga as Diana Ross and Carl Spencer as Marvin Gaye, starting 6 March 2018. 

    They join David Albury who continues in the role of Smokey Robinson. Cruz Lee-Ojo, 11 years old from Uxbridge also joins the Company to share the role of Young Michael Jackson, Berry Gordy and Stevie Wonder with Tumo Reetsang, 12 years old from Southwark, London.

    Celebrating its second birthday in the West End, Motown the Musical uncovers the true story of the legendary record label that changed music history and created the soundtrack of a generation.

    Featuring music and lyrics from the Motown catalogue and a book by Motown founder Berry Gordy, the production features a sixteen-piece orchestra playing 50 Motown tracks including Ain’t No Mountain High Enough, I’ll Be There, Dancing In The Street, Stop! In The Name Of Love, My Girl and I Heard It through the Grapevine.

    With just $800 borrowed from his family, Motown founder Berry Gordy, goes from featherweight boxer to heavyweight music mogul, discovering and launching the careers of Diana Ross, Michael Jackson, Stevie Wonder, Smokey Robinson, Marvin Gaye and many more. 

    Jay Perry’s previous theatre credits include Beautiful: The Carole King Musical and Whistle Down The Wind, both at the Aldwych Theatre, Hairspray at the Gordon Craig Theatre. He currently plays the lead Temptation as part of the Motown the Musical West End Company.

    Natalie Kassanga returns to the West End having last been seen on stage as an original cast member of Cameron Mackintosh’s Oliver! at the Theatre Royal, Drury Lane. She made her West End debut playing Young Nala in The Lion King at the Lyceum Theatre.

    Carl Spencer is an original member of the Motown the Musical West End Company. His previous theatre credits include The Scottsboro Boys at the Young Vic and Garrick Theatre.

    Ensemble members include Chanice Alexandra-Burnett, KM Drew Boateng, Timothy Benjamin, Ryan Carter, Ricardo Castro, Amandla Elynah, Livvy Evans, Segun Fawole, Angela Marie Hurst, Cameron Bernard Jones, Cleopatra Joseph, Nathan Lorainey-Dineen, Mireia Mambo, Matt Overfield, Adam Philpott, Ainsley Hall Ricketts, Lawrence Rowe, Jaime Tait, Kyle Turner, Anna Van Ruiten, Cherelle Williams, Lashane Williams, Michael Woolston-Thomas, Jayme-Lee Zanoncelli and Mitchell Zhangazha.

    Now booking at the Shaftesbury Theatre until 5 January 2019, book your Motown the Musical tickets today!